Aside

Why Facebook isn’t Good

My usual schedule before falling asleep every night is to

1. eat some chocolate (even if i don’t have any, i will literally eat a chocolate flavored protein bar)

2. set my alarm for the next day

3. get in bed and open my computer

4. go on Facebook and mindlessly stalk people for about 45 minutes and then fall asleep

As much as I absolutely hate that I do this, I can’t stop.

The first thing I do every morning is open my computer and robotically check my Facebook. Even though there is nothing important or even substantial to look at that has happened over the 7 hours while I was sleeping.

And i know I’m not the only human who does this. So my question is:

Why are we so obsessed with the idea of keeping tabs on everyone else’s life?

Every time I log into my account (which is usually 5 or 6 times a day…just being honest), I find myself more depressed, bored, and experiencing a bigger state of FOMO (fear of missing out) than when I started. Why?

Because Facebook isn’t real.

It’s not the true reflection of peoples lives; its a jealousy driven and prideful way to show your friends how much more fun you’re having without them, how many friends you have, and how well you’re liked…I think you can tell I’m bitter.

The dumb thing about Facebook, and this goes for any social media, is that so many things people do are driven for the sole purpose of posting something on Facebook.

And hey, I’m definitely guilty of this. I would be lying if I said I never took pictures just so that everyone could see how great my hair looked that day, or faked like I was having a great time with people, even if I wasn’t, just so that my followers would see I hung out with a big crowd of people that night.

One of the most recent trends in my city and among my group of friends, is the idea of taking pictures, just to take pictures. I almost expect it now when I log onto my Facebook to see another album of a giant group of people posing for beautifully edited pictures. And of course, I expect the sick feeling of being left out, as well. Because how can you not feel like this when everyone and their mother are having a ‘great’ time taking ‘great’ pictures and laughing in every.single.one.

At times like this when I get so frustrated about it, I contemplate doing something drastic that I would hope to make a lasting impression. Probably like posting a pointed status or even deleting my Facebook, but I never follow through with it.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll do it this time…

Leave a Reply

